Sustainable Agriculture: Addie’s Ag. Issues Platform

My Ag platform this year will be focused on Sustainable Agriculture. I felt urged to choose this topic because my junior and senior year in high school I was enrolled in an environmentally based governors school program, where much of our curriculum was focused on the environment, sustainable agriculture, and a strong emphasis on buy fresh buy local. This program taught me so much, and opened my eyes to agriculture systems that I knew nothing about before. Sustainable ag, protecting the environment, and glorifying the small-scale, local farmer are all topics that are near and dear to my heart. I enjoy learning about sustainable ways and talking to local farmers about what they do to ensure the success of their farms. Plus, when it comes to food, who can say no to some fresh, healthy, tasty produce?! I hope to present fun, interesting posts each month, providing new knowledge and fun facts on all the topics above throughout the year!

It is important to stay up to date on information regarding sustainability and buy-fresh-buy-local because it really affects the small farmer and the local agrarian community. Knowing what is going on, and what local farming, CSA, and Agri-tainment opportunities are available near you can help each individual strengthen not only their communities agriculture, but also economy! Hopefully some of the information I hope to provide through this blog will spark the interest of members, and be useful knowledge. Some of the topics I write about this year will also hopefully be useful for FFA related events including CDE’s such as public speaking (topics and extemporaneous information), Envirothon, and Environmental and Natural Resources.

I would also like to challenge any readers or followers to contact me with topics they are particularly interested which fall under the “Sustainable Ag” category. I would love to do some digging and throw in some articles based on what you, the readers, truly want to hear about!!

Leave a comment